End of week 6 (already?!)

Wow, I can’t believe I’ve been here for a month and a half!  It most certainly doesn’t seem that long, although in some ways it seems like I’ve been here even longer.  I’ve really settled into a routine and I feel more comfortable with everything, even the new things that are thrown my way.  I’m certainly more confident in my ability to deal with different tasks, which I suppose is one of the major advantages to doing an internship.

So most of the time on Thursday I spent looking through my bibliographies for reference sources.  There is certainly a lot to go through!  The first book I started on isn’t that long, maybe a little under 300 pages, so I should be able to get through it.  The book has the recommended resources divided into different categories, so basically what I’m doing is going through those categories and seeing what types of items the library already has.  If it looks like the items in one of those categories need updating, then I’ll pick out some recommended resources and add them to a document that I’ve started on.  I’m including the title, author, year, and ISBN of the items, as well as a link to somewhere to buy the items (usually Amazon) so they can easily be purchased.  I think I’ve worked out a pretty good system, although I still feel like I don’t really know what I’m doing.  I hope the library can use what I come up with!

IMG_0171

In terms of attendance, this last class was the most successful yet!  I had three (3!) people show up.  Of course I would have preferred more, but I still consider it a success.  The guy who asked so many questions last week came again this week, which was nice.  Even though the class was a repeat it felt new because the people who showed up were new and I ended up going over some different things.  It went really well, and I’m looking forward to the remaining classes.

Leave a Reply

